The Clearing by Katherine May
The Clearing by Katherine May Podcast
Sunday *meditation* prompt
0:00
-16:07

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of The Clearing by Katherine May

Sunday *meditation* prompt

Finding your slow, fascinated attention
13

Hello,

I fancied a little change this week…

Whenever I talk about Enchantment, the questions I get asked most often are: But where on earth can I find this enchantment you speak of when I live in a city/work full time/am already completely overloaded with other things to do? I’m not sure I’m capable of such a thing, anyway.

I paraphrase, but you get the gist. There is this sense in all of us that our own lives are not set up to be rich and fulfilling. They are too tightly wound for that, too mundane. The places we live are too ordinary. We have too many responsibilities. More than that, we have lost faith in our ability to pay attention. We are convinced that we have undertaken some kind of terrible deal with the devil, forever fating us to flit rather than land.

I don’t believe any of that. But if you do, I’d like to invite you to give this exercise a go.

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to The Clearing by Katherine May to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

The Clearing by Katherine May
The Clearing by Katherine May Podcast
A place to find ad-free versions of all episodes of How We Live Now, immersive bonus mini-episodes and audio replays of all events in The Clearing