The Clearing by Katherine May
The Clearing by Katherine May Podcast
Where do we begin?
0:00
-1:00:10

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of The Clearing by Katherine May

Where do we begin?

How Skating to Antarctica made me want to write memoir
2

Hello,

I often get asked, ‘What made you want to be a writer?’ and in all honesty, I have no idea. I wonder if other people do - whether there’s a distinct moment of inspiration or revelation - because for me, writing just feels innate.

But it was great to talk with Sam Baker of The Shift about Jenny Diski’s Skating to Antarctica, because reading the essay that the book was based on was definitely formative for me. Although - as you’ll see below - I can’t quite think where I would have encountered it, I know that it changed the way I saw myself, and the possibilities I saw in the act of writing. I still thought I was a mad, doomed girl, but I also saw that a person like me could make something beautiful. And I felt for the first time that hit that only comes from a real-life story, that relief of contact.

You can watch some of my conversation with Sam below - to add subtitles, click the ‘CC’ button.

Scroll down for the full video, an audio version for those who prefer to just listen, and a full transcript. The original essay version of Skating to Antarctica is reproduced in Why Didn’t You Just Do What You Were Told.

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to The Clearing by Katherine May to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

The Clearing by Katherine May
The Clearing by Katherine May Podcast
A place to find ad-free versions of all episodes of How We Live Now, immersive bonus mini-episodes and audio replays of all events in The Clearing